Jajaghu Temple

Jajaghu or Jago temple was constructed in 1275 - 1300 AD. It believed as the burial place of King Wisnuwardhana ashes, the fourth king of Singosari kingdom. The temple itself has three famous reliefs and each relief has their own story.

Kunjakarna relief which tells us about Kunjakarna who is doing Buddha meditation in Mt. Semeru in order to be free of his demon mind in the next incarnation. The second relief is about Arjuna journey to Indrakila mountain to train himself so he could be able to get Siva’s help and in this relief, it is told that Arjuna is succeed. Krisnayana relief is the third relief and it tells us about the marriage between Maharaja Wisnuwarddhana and his wife Nararya Waning Hyun in which symbolized the marriage between Visnu the God and Sri the Goddess.

There is also one remained statue in the yard of this temple, Amoghapasa the Highest God in Tantra Buddha whom has eight hands holding different things in each hands.

It is extremely interesting that the temple has ornament similarities to those of Penataran temple in Blitar Regency. It lies at Jago village, Tumpang District, the eastern part of Malang (about 22 km).

Sumber Awan Stupa

There are a lot of temples in Malang area, but Sumber Awan is the only building which is shaped in stupa. Lexically, Sumberawan comes from Sumber/spring and Awan/pond that means springs in the pond. This stupa was found in 1904 and renovated in 1937 by Dutch architecture Van Romondt.

The height of this temple is 2,23 cm and situated in Singosari District. To reach this area, we need to take a walk for 1,5 km and walk along a river banks with fresh clear water. The local settlements around the temple that are usually use the river to take a bath around the river side. Besides, you would also passing through fields’ area with its activities.

The spring water is believed as Amerta Water which usually drink by Gods and for people who drink it, it is believed that the drinker would be forever young and live longer.

The place around stupa was also called as paradise because its beautiful sceneries and natural surrounding. Nowadays, the temple area is still green and the surrounding is still far away from city touch.

Kidal Temple

The narrative poem Nagarakertagama identifies Candi Kidal as the burial shrine of King Anusapati of Singosari, who died in 1248. The temple may then be dated around the middle of the 13th century. A statue of Shiwa, said to have come from Kidal and thus assumed to be the portrait of Anusapati, is in the possession of the Royal Tropical Institute in Amsterdam.

This temple is located in Rejo Kidal village, Tumpang Sub District, 24 km away to the East from Malang. The Real height of the temple is 17 meters, but now it's just 12,4 meters. The temple base has a square shape. The door is one the West side. Above the door of the temple. there are " Kepala Kala " (Head of Giants) and lions. The temple was decorated using ornaments, which depict Mahabharata story not in sequence.

There is a well-known relief at the wall of this temple which is Garuda. The story is about Garuda’s journey in rescuing his mother from his stepmother’s slavery. The name of Kidal also related to the way the relief was pictured. It started from the left side, back side and finally the right side of the temple.